We welcome contact with members. General enquiries, administrative and other non-urgent matters can be sent to the Rescue office. The membership secretary will forward them to the relevant person. Contributions for Rescue News and related comments can be sent to the Editor or Production editor. Urgent or confidential archaeological matters can be sent direct to the Secretary, Chairman or Vice Chairman, or by email to any appropriate member of Council.

RESCUE Council encompasses a broad range of experience including professional archaeology, training and standards, education, conservation, curation, consultancy, lifelong learning, research, IT and communications. Combined with members throughout the British Isles and a large network of contacts RESCUE is well placed to deal with any enquiry concerning British archaeology.

Rescue, the British Archaeological Trust Office
15a Bull Plain
Hertford, Hertfordshire SG14 1DX
United Kingdom


Registered charity: 1064836


Chair: Jo Caruth
c/o 15A Bull Plain, Hertford, Herts SG14 1DX.

Vice Chair: Dan Phillips

Secretary:  Hana Morel, London

Treasurer: Diana Friendship-Taylor

Membership Secretary and Assistant Treasurer: Sue Mulligan

Ordinary council members

Valerie Carpenter

Robin Densem, Hertfordshire

Kate Fielden, Wiltshire

Peter Alexander Fitzgerald, Carmarthen

Evelyne Godfrey, Oxfordshire

Tony Howe, Surrey

Dan Phillips, London

Jude Plouviez, Suffolk

Rebecca Reynolds, London

Harvey Sheldon, London

Mark Sycamore, Hertfordshire

Jez Taylor, London

Reuben Thorpe, Yorkshire

Chris Turner

Sophie Vigneron, Kent

Ex officio members

Giles Carey, Webmaster

Ed Archer, Scottish Correspondent